Summer Squash Cupcakes

30 Jul

I knew there would be some summer squash in my future this week and I found this recipe from Farmer Dave’s website (my CSA hook up). It’s actually a recipe from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious. Brilliant! I need to get my hands on this book soon to get more veggie fabulous ideas. If the other dessert recipes are anything like this one, I’ll be a happy bunny. They were a bit dense, but I chalk that up to being a little rough with my egg whites (they’re technically angel food cake cupcakes). I decided to make a little honey almond whipped cream to top off these treats. SHOUT OUT: Thanks, V, for the killer pics!

Summer Squash Cupcakes
makes 12/adapted from this recipe

Here’s what I used:

  • 5 egg whites
  • 3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup summer squash puree
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest

Here’s what I did:

  1. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt in a mixer for about 5 minutes until whites stiffen.
  2. Fold in remaining ingredients with a spatula (gently! I think I was mean to my egg whites)
  3. Pour in lined muffin tins and bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.
  4. Cool completely before topping.
  5. For the whipped cream, I added a teaspoon of almond extract and a little granulated honey….yummy.
One Response to “Summer Squash Cupcakes”

  1. Katie August 8, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I have that book – you can borrow it any time!

Leave a Reply

