Turnip Pie

30 Jul

This is not the most appealing pie on the planet, but man is it good. This was inspired by two things – 1) a recent parsnip pie story and 2) the fact that I had a bunch of turnips from my CSA and wasn’t sure what to do with them. I really had no idea where to start, so I literally googled “turnip pie.” I was amazed at the options available. This is a bare bones, ‘simple is best’ pie. I hope to get more turnips soon so I can experiment with the flavors. Also, this was a big hit with a four-year old and a man who is wary of things like turnip. I love to make them smile so to me, this was a success.

Turnip Pie
serves 8 – 10/adapted from this recipe

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup cooked and mashed turnips (I used hakurei turnips)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 3 eggs (beaten)
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 9″ pie crust (um, I bought this. Do not judge me….I live in a cube and it is, on average, 190 degrees in here during the summer.)

Here’s what I did:

  1. Wash and cut up the turnip – throw it in some water and boil until tender.
  2. Let the turnip cool for a minute, and then mash (I actually used my blender to get a smooth consistency).
  3. Mix together the mashed turnip, sugar and spices in a large bowl.
  4. Add the eggs, flour and milk and mix thoroughly.
  5. Pour into pie crust and bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or until the top of the pie has set.
  6. Let cool completely before cutting.
Leave a Reply

