Apple Crisp

25 Oct

I’m alive! It’s been months since my last post – way too long. Several things happened to cause this devastating delay: 1) I moved. My new apartment is amazing and I am in love with my dishwasher and closets. 2) I went on vacation for a week. Ok, ok – this was in September and not really an excuse. 3) My computer died. This happened as soon as I was settled into my new apartment. Major bummer. However, things are back to normal. I am happy as can be in my new apartment and comfortably sitting with my healed laptop. Now, on to the baked goods. This crisp was made with apples picked with two of my favorite people. The topping was perfectly sweet and crunchy and the filling was a yummy blend of tart and spice.

Apple Crisp
serves about 8/adapted from this recipe

Here’s what I used:

Topping

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts

Filling

  • 6 cups tart apples, peeled, cored and cut into small pieces
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 3 tablespoons sugar

Here’s what I did:

Topping

  1. Put all dry ingredients in a large bowl and blend together.
  2. Add butter gradually and use your fingers to blend into the dry mixture.
  3. Set aside and make the filling.

Filling

  1. Mix together apples, lemon juice, zest and sugar in a large bowl.
  2. Spray a 8 x 8 inch baking dish and spread apple mixture evenly on the bottom.
  3. Crumble topping mixture on top of apples.
  4. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the top is golden brown and bubbling.
  5. Cool before serving – goes great with a little homemade whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

